top of page

When you find Gucci on a Tuesday.


Gucci Tuesday

Thrifting Tuesdays. There have been times when I have lost track of time, day and even my own name, with my eyes ready to focus in on familiar labels , colors and numbers. Let the game begin!

Sometimes I tell myself " You should watch how other people shop , see if you can spot the true thrifters ... " (the ones who zone out the crying , screaming kids, the muffled sound of the announcements and 80's music playing in the background) some are very obvious,

like the ones that give you the death stare if you get in their isle. Some like to side eye your cart and some push a bundle of hangers toward your direction to make it so tight that you can't look.

Those are your opponents that I like to call "Sharks".

Tuesdays are slow days but the groove in which I have adapted it has been my exclusive day. From my extensive experience and just common sense I have deducted my reasoning down to this:

the "Sharks" hit this particular store on Sunday-Mondays' and have picked off the last batch for their ebay or poshmark financial hobbies because the store announces their 1/2 off color or weekly sales on those days. Thing about that , They put new merchandise out every day. People tend to donate on the weekends and the processing of those new items take a day or two, Never on the actual sale day. [Having worked in a thrift boutique for several years] So unless you hid something, your hunting at the bottom of the barrel. The sense of urgency is now gone since the items marked down are only time diligent. But what do I know ? Work smarter not harder is my 2017 Mantra. Not that I even consider this work.

Hanger after hanger , scanning like a robot. You always have your favorite brands you hope to score but have to focus on bigger scale not to miss anything by being biased.

There she is ...a pair of Vintage Gucci slim leg safari pants with the hardware to prove her heritage. Frantically I search for all the signs of her authenticity and if she has any unfixable scars. She's real and she's all mine. You almost want to leave the store now , because it doesn't get any better on a given day (unless it's "Chanel" the coveted unicorn of all unicorns) but you have to calm yourself down and keep going, even though all you can think about is the diamond you just neatly folded and hid under your purse.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LuxeCella eBay Store
  • LuxeCella Instagram
bottom of page